Home Page Synod for the Middle East 2010

Anglican and Protestant Communities

Comunità ecclesiastiche anglican
 Anglican and Protestant ecclesial communities in the Near East

The Anglican and Protestant ecclesial communities in the Near East do not originate from the region. They are mainly due to the installation of European and American missionaries as from the 19th Century. After the missionary organisations got closer in the 1920’s, the Middle East Christian Council was founded, the first step of what was to become the Middle East Council of Churches (MECC), with the development of dialogue with the Orthodox and Eastern Orthodox Churches. Thirteen ecclesial communities originating from the 16th Century Reformation form part of the MECC today:

    1. Coptic Evangelical Church (or Evangelical Church of Egypt – Synod of the Nile)
    2. 2. Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land
    3. Episcopal (Anglican) Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East: Diocese of Jerusalem - Diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf - Diocese of Egypt - Diocese of Iran
    4. Episcopal (Anglican) Church in the Sudan
    5. Union of the Armenian Evangelical Churches in the Near East
    6. Evangelical Church in Sudan
    7. Synod of the Evangelical Church in Iran
    8. National Evangelical Synod of Syria and Lebanon
    9. National Evangelical Union of Lebanon
    10. Presbyterian Church in the Sudan
    11. Protestant Church in Algeria
    12. Reformed Church of Tunisia – French-speaking
    13. National Evangelical Church in Kuwait

Vatican Radio Special Assembly for the Middle East

Arabic Armenian Hebrew French English Italian
Vatican Radio - SYNODUM EPISCOPORUM - All the contents on this site are copyrighted ©.