HomeVatican Radio
Vatican Radio   
more languages  

     Home > Church >  2014-03-04 18:18:38
A+ A- print this page

Cardinal Castelló nominated president of the commission of Cardinals overseeing IOR

The Commission of Cardinals overseeing the Institute for the Works of Religion (IOR), popularly known as the Vatican Bank have nominated Spanish Cardinal Santos Abril y Castelló as their President. A statement from the Press Office of the Holy See says: “According to the Institute’s Statutes, the members of the Cardinals’ Commission are appointed by the Holy Father for a period of five years. The Cardinals’ Commission is called to meet by its President at least twice a year. It reviews reports on major business processes and strategy presented by the President of the Board of Superintendence. The Commission further oversees the Institute’s adherence to statutory norms and appoints the members of the Board of Superintendence.”
The Institute’s current Cardinals’ Commission was appointed in January 2014 by the Holy Father and is composed of Cardinal Santos Abril y Castelló (Archpriest of the Papal Basilica of St Mary Major), Cardinal Thomas Christopher Collins (Archbishop of Toronto), Cardinal Pietro Parolin (Secretary of State), Cardinal Christoph Schönborn (Archbishop of Vienna) and Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran (President of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue).


About us Schedules Contacts VR Productions Links Other languages Holy See Vatican State Papal liturgies
All the contents on this site are copyrighted ©. Webmaster / Credits / Legal conditions / Advertising